The Robert J. Pickering / J.R. Colbeck Award for Playwriting Excellence

This annual award was established to honor past member and playwright, Bob Pickering, and to provide a vehicle for playwrights to see their works produced. Over 30 plays have been produced over since 1984. In 2020, the award was renamed to also honor longtime BCCT member and Pickering director, J.R. Colbeck. $200 is awarded for first place, $50 for second place and $25 for third place.


Manuscripts must be received by December 31st

Types of plays accepted

Full length, unproduced plays and musicals. Children’s plays accepted. Unable to return without a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Selection Process:

Chairman and committee members read and review each entry and select ten finalists from which the first, second and third place winners are chosen.


Branch County Community Theatre reserves the right and agrees to produce the first place winner in this yearly competition. First place winners are required to sign a production contract.

Production House:

BCCT productions are staged in the historic Tibbits Opera House in Coldwater, Michigan. Built in 1882, Tibbits is a completely restored 500-seat proscenium theater.

Send submissions to:
Branch County Community Theatre
14 S. Hanchett St.
Coldwater, MI 49036

Current Season

The Sin Eater by Daniel Borengasser.  Directed by Don Hicks 9 year old Kate has exper...
October 7-9, 2021

Latest News

Have you ever wanted to be in a holiday show? Get into the holiday spirit with a fun...
Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 7:32pm
The Sin Eater by Daniel Borengasser.  Directed by Don Hicks 9 year old Kate has exper...
Monday, August 9, 2021 - 9:12pm
We are excited to finally announce our award winner for 2021 for the Robert J. Picker...
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 12:51pm
We regret to inform you that, due to the coronavirus, we are canceling what was to be...
Sunday, March 29, 2020 - 1:03pm

Follow us on social media